Tuesday, October 21, 2008

Know your Shoulder joint complex – The 4 in 1 joint

The shoulder joint complex comprises of following 4 joints:

1. Sternoclavicular (SC) joint - this is actually the only bony connection that the shoulder has with the main skeleton
2. Acromioclavicular (AC) joint- between the collar bone and the point of the shoulder called the acromion, which is part of the scapula or shoulder blade
3. Glenohumeral (GH) joint- between the glenoid part of the scapula - the socket - and the head of the humerus (HOH) - the ball
4. Scapulothoracic (ST) joint- the ‘false joint’ between the scapula and the rib cage that it rides over.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.